The Barrow

7/15/10

Got Sprunk? Shadow's Son is Shining Bright

The positive reviews for Jon Sprunk's Shadow's Son keep pouring in.

Civilian Reader says, "This is a solid fantasy debut that grabs you from page one and refuses to let you go. I am eagerly awaiting the second instalment. To sum up, I shall not mince words: I really liked this novel, and had fun reading it; and I think most readers will, too. Highly recommended. For Fans of: Brent Weeks, Col Buchanan, James Enge, Scott Lynch, Joe Abercrombie, Patrick Rothfuss, Matthew Sturges."

Only the Best Science Fiction & Fantasy says, "Shadow's Son is a well-written book with some great characters and set in medieval territory with dark magic. What's not to love? The only real complaint I have is that it was only 278 pages...I really didn't want to stop reading. Luckily, this is the first in a trilogy...Jon is hard at work on the sequel due out next year. 4 out of 5 Stars."

Grasping for the Wind says, "I loved it, and am eagerly anticipating the sequel. Caim has the same appeal as Paul S. Kemp’s Erevis Cale or Brent Weeks’s Kylar Stern. They are all assassins doing good deeds from the shadows, and if you liked either of those characters, than Caim will be a welcome addition to the canon. I look forward to many more excellent stories of the assassin Caim, the Shadow’s Son."

Falcata Times says, "A new author and one that picks up the gauntlet of the fantasy assassin from Brent Weeks... A great tale by this author and one that will definitely hit the spot for a number of readers who have yearned for the return to a darker killer in a similar vein as Gemmell’s Waylander. "

Rob Will Review says, "Shadow’s Son manages to be simultaneously spry, dark, and complex... The highest compliment I can pay Jon Sprunk and Shadow’s Son is that, while in large part I find its brevity to be one of its strong points–there aren’t many authors being published today who can do so much with such a small amount of paper and ink, without ever allowing the story or characters to feel rushed or cramped–I am incredibly eager to return to this world and to spend more time with these wonderful characters. At novel’s end, our hero is poised on the brink of discovery, and I for one can’t wait to take that journey with him. Here’s hoping it won’t be too far in the future."

Booklist says, "The intrigue, action scenes, and ever-more-revealing character insights are masterfully woven together in a book the reader won’t want to put down. ...Overall, a first-rate sword-and- sorcery tale, with intriguing characters, that moves at a quick pace."

LEC Book Reviews says, "It did just what I wanted it to do, entertain me... with its relatively short length and its fast pace, Shadow’s Son makes for the perfect read when you’re in search of a quick burst of fun-filled action. We must not forget that this is Mr. Sprunk’s debut and with it he has managed to make me excited for the other two books in this promising trilogy as well as anything else he might throw our way. My Rating: 4 out of 5"

Monsters and Critics says, "Brisk pacing combines with liberal swordplay, politics, dark plots and mischievous spirits to make for an entertaining if unoriginal action tale that promises good things to come."

Roland's Codex says, "Jon Sprunk's first novel is engaging and light read, and one that leaves you wanting more. ...I will definitely read the sequel, when it's out. The author has undeniable potential, and if he develops his world and gives it a few historical layers... this could turn out to be a truly great series."

Madhatter's Bookshelf and Book Review says, "Shadow's Son had me up late at night as nearly every chapter ended in climax after climax of tight action sequences to see how Caim will get out of the next scrape. Fans of Brent Weeks and Brandon Sanderson will certainly find plenty to like here, but in a much smaller package as it is less than 300 pages. I give Shadow's Son 7.5 out of 10 hats."

Fantasy Book Critics says, "Jon Sprunk shows that not all fantasy novels need to be doorstoppers to be good. Shadow's Son is easily one of my favorite books of 2010 and I look forward to seeing what Sprunk can add to this trilogy."

Elitist Book Reviews says, "This book IS action. ...The pacing, action, and characters are all well written, and really that is what the focus is on for this novel. If this is an indication of what Jon is going to be having published, we are excited. We'll read his stuff readily, every time. So should you."

Speculative Book Reviews says, "Sprunk shows you write a great debut novel and comes out swinging with a great story of love, death, and magic. If you are looking for a book dealing with assassins look no further than Shadow's Son. The character of Caim reminds me of Brent Weeks' Night Angel Trilogy or David Gemmell, if he wrote about assassins. Jon Sprunk is now on my must read list. Great debut novel."

Neth Space says, "a fun, fast read in the fashion of dark fantasy that’s so popular these days and Sprunk wisely does not try to cram it fuller than needed. It stands well enough on its own for people to try out without fear of needing to read forthcoming sequels, but the ending leaves many questions unanswered and a sense of anticipation for the books to come. All in all it’s just the distraction I was looking for amid some of the heavier reading I’ve done of late, and book that I can see pleasing a lot of readers. 7.5/10"

Pat's Fantasy Hotlist says, "The traditional tropes are all present, but somehow it doesn't take too much away from the overall story. Thanks to Jon Sprunk's writing style, a fast-paced yet evocative narrative that keeps you turning those pages, even though the story is clichéd somehow you keep going. ..like a talented fusion cuisine chef, Sprunk manages to take all those beaten to death ingredients, mix them up, and come up with a compelling recipe. Mind you, Shadow's Son will not change your life. But if you are looking for an action-packed and entertaining fantasy read to bring along with you on vacation, then this just might be what the doctor ordered."

6 comments:

Anonymous said...

I greatly enjoyed this book and cannot wait for a follow up :)

Lou Anders said...

Coming soon!

Anonymous said...

hey anders, since you are bringing in YA under your PYR tent i have a question regarding that and S&S(swords and sorcery)

can swords and sorcery be adjusted to, or fitted to the YA angle.

please take your time to respond and i hope you have an awesome rest of the summer

Lou Anders said...

I think it can but will be tricky. I have my own idea for a YA S&S bouncing around in the back of my head, and I did recently speak to an S&S author about adapting their world to YA.

Anonymous said...

tricky in which way?

that's all the questions for now. i know you are a busy guy and it pretty late after the other but again take your time and a response will be appreciated.

I dont know about anybody else but i think a good S&S is EXACTLY what the YA needs.(especially after being fed wizards, witches and wands for so long). heck ill be the first to admit that i hate harry potter *braces for an attack from the HP crowd*

Lou Anders said...

Tricky in that one characteristic of S&S is the level of gritty violence. However, S&S is a pretty nebulous genre and I think there is room for YA S&S. As I said, I'm exploring it myself.