The Geomancer


2013 Hugo Award Nominations

Lone Star Con 3, the 71st Annual World Science Fiction Convention, has announced the 2103 Hugo Award Nominees. We are thrilled that Pyr editorial director Lou Anders has been nominated in the category of Best Editor Long Form for the seventh consecutive year in a row (every year the category has existed). The Hugo Award® is the leading award for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy. The Hugos are awarded each year by the World Science Fiction Society, at the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon). This year, the LoneStarCon 3 ceremony will take place on Sunday, September 1, 2013 and will be hosted by Toastmaster, Paul Cornell.


Fair Coin is a finalist for the Compton Crook

E.C. Myer's deubt novel, Fair Coin, was selected as a finalist for the 2013 Compton Crook Award!

Named for author Compton Crook (the pseudonym of Stephen Tall), since 1983 this award has been presented at Balticon — the four-day annual Maryland regional science fiction convention produced by BSFS, currently held on Memorial Day weekend in the Baltimore, MD area — by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS). The Award is presented for the best first novel in the genre published in the previous year. It includes a framed award document and, for the novel's author, a check for $1,000 and an invitation to be the Compton Crook Guest at Balticon for two years.

The Compton Crook Award was named in memory of Towson State College Professor of Natural Sciences Compton Crook, who wrote under the name Stephen Tall, and who died in 1981. Professor Crook was active for many years in the Baltimore Science Fiction Society and was a staunch champion of new works in the fields.

The 2013 31st Compton Crook Award Finalists are:

Glitch by Heather Anastasiu
Shadow Ops: Control Point by Myke Cole
Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
Fair Coin by E. C. Myers
Scourge of the Betrayer by Jeff Salyards

Congratulations to E.C. and to all the nominees!