The Geomancer


Fair Coin is a finalist for the Compton Crook

E.C. Myer's deubt novel, Fair Coin, was selected as a finalist for the 2013 Compton Crook Award!

Named for author Compton Crook (the pseudonym of Stephen Tall), since 1983 this award has been presented at Balticon — the four-day annual Maryland regional science fiction convention produced by BSFS, currently held on Memorial Day weekend in the Baltimore, MD area — by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS). The Award is presented for the best first novel in the genre published in the previous year. It includes a framed award document and, for the novel's author, a check for $1,000 and an invitation to be the Compton Crook Guest at Balticon for two years.

The Compton Crook Award was named in memory of Towson State College Professor of Natural Sciences Compton Crook, who wrote under the name Stephen Tall, and who died in 1981. Professor Crook was active for many years in the Baltimore Science Fiction Society and was a staunch champion of new works in the fields.

The 2013 31st Compton Crook Award Finalists are:

Glitch by Heather Anastasiu
Shadow Ops: Control Point by Myke Cole
Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
Fair Coin by E. C. Myers
Scourge of the Betrayer by Jeff Salyards

Congratulations to E.C. and to all the nominees!

No comments:

Post a Comment